Golf Car Policies for Everyone:
We continue to monitor our guests’ comments and contemplate ways to improve their experience at Ocean Lakes. Many guests have heralded the policy modifications that we have implemented during the last few years and we have seen guest behavior, and thus guest experiences, improve. We appreciate and value everyone’s feedback. Consistently, we are receiving complaints about three issues where the few impact the many.
On January 1, 2015 we altered the way we address these issues by revising our current policies and the consequences of disregarding these policies. Most of our guests will not be worried about the following changes because they already abide by our policies.
We want to emphasize that QUIET HOURS are 11 PM to 7 AM.
Cruising on golf cars during quiet hours will not be allowed and violators could be subject to a $100 fine. Understand that we are not out to harass guests utilizing necessary facilities, such as the bathhouses or Soapy Suds, etc. We are targeting guests “cruising” around the campground, generally making noise or looking for trouble (coolers, bikes, alcohol, unlocked vehicles, etc.). Loud music, language, noise will not be tolerated. We have received numerous complaints about golf cars blaring loud, sometimes lewd, music. Some of our guests enjoy the “volume control game” forced on our Security teammates, however, we have all heard enough. Any guest playing music too loud for the rest of us may be subject to a $100 fine.
We understand that our guests are on vacation and want to relax with family and friends and enjoy themselves. That may include an adult beverage and that is permitted at their site. However, open containers of alcohol are not permitted on vehicles (that includes golf cars) for it is against South Carolina state law. It is true, we are private property, and we choose to uphold the state laws. Any guest caught with an open container may be subject to a $100 fine.
Once again, we understand some guests will not agree with our policies, but they most likely do not share our perspective, the liability, and the lack of respect our team (and many guests) have witnessed. Our ultimate objective is to make Ocean Lakes the most safe and enjoyable family-oriented vacation destination that we can be.
- Driver must be at least 16 years old and possess a VALID driver’s license in their possession to operate a golf car in Ocean Lakes (also SC State Law). You must be 21 years of age to sign a rental contract.
- Privately owned golf cars must be registered and have a valid registration sticker attached to the driver’s side of the front of the car. Proof of proper liability insurance must be shown with a minimum of $50,000 coverage in Personal Injury and Property Damage held on the golf car. Be aware of South Carolina driving laws on public roads. There is a $25 charge for stickers annually.
- NO gas powered or motorized golf cars are permitted.
- Golf cars operating after sunset must have the light(s) turned on. Lights must be permanently attached and at least four inches in diameter.
- Flags on golf cars (and vehicles) must not exceed 24″ x 24″. No whip antennas or extended post mounted flags are permitted.
- Golf cars must be operated properly and driven only on roadways. Golf cars are not to be driven across vacant or occupied campsites, the beach, or in other restricted areas.
- A maximum of 5 people can be on a golf car at any given time. A maximum of 8 on a limo golf car.
- Cruising on golf cars during quiet hours not permitted. Violators could be subject to a $100 fine. See campground and general park policies.
- Please keep volume levels on radios, stereos or other audio devices low so others are not disturbed. Vulgar or lewd lyrics will not be tolerated. Violators could be subject to a $100 fine.
- No open containers of alcoholic beverages are allowed on golf cars. Violators could be subject to a $100 fine.
- Annual Lease Holders and transient campsite car owners are responsible for the operation of the golf car including any damages that result from operation.
- Annual Lease Holders must have 3″ reflective site numbers on the front and back of their golf cars.
- Under NO circumstances can golf cars be rented to other sites or other guests as a separate transaction.
- Rental golf cars cannot be driven off Ocean Lakes’ property.
REMEMBER TO REGISTER PRIVATELY OWNED ELECTRIC GOLF CARS AT THE GOLF CAR BUILDING
> Please review our website for 2016 Changes.
Golf Car Penalties:
Privately owned campsite guests’ golf car:
- First Offense of underage, reckless driving, or you have already received a warning: $100.00 fine will be levied and must be paid immediately at the Main Office.
Annual Lease Holder Golf Cars:
- First Offense of underage or reckless driving: $100.00 fine will be levied against that site and documentation recorded in the site’s line file.
Rental golf car:
- First Offense of underage or reckless driving, taking the rental golf car off the campground property, or you have already received a warning: $100 fine will be levied and the car is immediately taken away from the person to whom it was rented. A possible loss of privilege to rent or operate a golf car by any guest on the same site during that visit may result. Fines to be paid at Golf Car Rental Office.
All Second Violations
All Second violations of a rule will result in the loss of privilege to operate a golf car in the campground. The golf car must be placed back on the camping guest’s trailer or into the golf car storage area. Annual Lease Holder’s golf cars must be removed from the property or placed into the golf car storage area and loss of privilege for one year.